Skip to main content

    Dakota Software

    Dakota Software's pages describe the ProActivity Suite as EHS software built around an in-house regulatory content database, with site-specific regulatory registers, compliance calendars, incident and observation reporting with OSHA forms, inspections, audits, task tracking, analytics and permit management. The vendor sells it as ProActivity EHS for higher-risk organisations, EHS Compliance+ for growing organisations that mainly need registers and calendars, and EHS Essentials as a simpler incident, inspection and training package. Pricing is quote based, billed annually on a standard three-year contract, and no amounts are published.

    Evidence: Researched profile

    Built from vendor sources checked ; AI-assisted drafting. Documentation review, not a hands-on test. How pages are made

    Who is Dakota Software for?

    US-centred organisations with several sites that want regulatory obligations turned into site-specific registers and recurring compliance tasks alongside incident, inspection and audit records. The three packages differ in scope, so a feature seen on one page may not be in the package you are quoted. The pages do not describe API documentation, integrations with other business systems or security certifications, and offline use is described for audits only. Coverage outside the US is described in general terms only. No prices are published and the contract is billed annually with a standard three-year term.

    Watch for: No prices are published and the standard contract term is three years.

    Trial or demo on request. Sources checked .

    Product tour

    Vendor visuals—not a QHSEtech hands-on test.

    Dashboard card with DART incident count, days since last injury and a multi-line trend chart by month

    Organizational health dashboard with incident trends

    Source
    Audit question about hazardous waste accumulation time, a No response, a finding note and 40 CFR 262.17 links

    Audit question with regulation links and finding

    Source

    Capabilities and scope

    Dakota Software Corporation is an EHS software and services vendor based in Cleveland, Ohio, USA; its about page says it was established in 1988 and that hundreds of organisations use it (a vendor statement). Its pages describe a ProActivity Suite offering, sold as three solution packages: ProActivity EHS (the comprehensive suite, listing registers, auditing, incidents, inspections, tasks, analytics and permit management), EHS Compliance+ (expert-built regulatory registers, permit obligations and compliance calendars) and EHS Essentials (incidents, inspections, tasks, observations, analytics and training). This profile covers the three packages together and notes where they differ. It does not cover Dakota's consulting or managed services as a separate offer, nor content from its partners.

    Dakota Software capabilities, evidence status and source links
    CapabilityEvidenceScope and source
    Site-specific regulatory registers and compliance calendarsDocumented by vendor

    The compliance planning page describes registers generated for each site through guided applicability questions, exportable legal registers, and compliance calendars that schedule tasks tied to site-specific regulations. EHS Compliance+ describes a Dakota regulatory engineer who determines what applies to a facility and builds the register, with calendars and inspection templates preloaded. Jurisdictions beyond US federal and state requirements are described only generally.

    EHS compliance planning module, checked 2 October 2026EHS Compliance+ package page, checked 2 October 2026ProActivity EHS software overview, checked 2 October 2026
    Regulatory content and change alertsDocumented by vendor

    The pages describe a database maintained by the vendor's in-house analysts with monthly updates and change alerts that prompt updates to plans. Volume figures on the ProActivity page, such as 100,000 citations and 6,000 changes a year, are vendor statements. International coverage is not itemised on the reviewed pages.

    EHS compliance planning module, checked 2 October 2026ProActivity EHS software overview, checked 2 October 2026
    Incident and observation reporting with OSHA formsDocumented by vendor

    The incidents page describes reporting from any device without login, OSHA 300 and 301 recordkeeping forms, QR-assisted workflows, investigations with root cause, and TRIR and DART analytics. EHS Essentials lists incident management with OSHA-ready forms. Anonymous reporting is not described.

    Incidents and observations module, checked 2 October 2026EHS Essentials package page, checked 2 October 2026
    InspectionsDocumented by vendor

    The ProActivity page lists an EHS Inspections module with regulatory-based checklists and mentions mobile access, EHS Essentials lists inspection management with regulatory-aligned checklists, and EHS Compliance+ mentions preloaded inspection templates. Checklist counts, photo capture and scheduling rules are not itemised on these three pages.

    ProActivity EHS software overview, checked 2 October 2026EHS Essentials package page, checked 2 October 2026EHS Compliance+ package page, checked 2 October 2026
    EHS and ISO auditsDocumented by vendor

    The auditing page describes customisable checklists linked to regulations, applicability filters per facility, selectable audit criteria including ISO standards, capture of nonconformities and follow-up tasks created from findings, and completion in the field on responsive checklists. Audits are not listed among the EHS Essentials modules.

    EHS auditing module, checked 2 October 2026ProActivity EHS software overview, checked 2 October 2026EHS Essentials package page, checked 2 October 2026
    Task and corrective action trackingDocumented by vendor

    The ProActivity page lists a task module for enterprise compliance tasks linked to audits, the auditing and incidents pages describe follow-up tasks and corrective actions created from findings and incidents, and EHS Essentials lists tasks and action items as a module. Escalation rules are not described on the reviewed pages.

    ProActivity EHS software overview, checked 2 October 2026EHS auditing module, checked 2 October 2026Incidents and observations module, checked 2 October 2026EHS Essentials package page, checked 2 October 2026
    Permit management and AI permit analysisDepends on scope

    The permit page describes AI that reads a permit and identifies its requirements, which in-house analysts review before delivery, and turns them into recurring tasks with linked citations. EHS Compliance+ also mentions local permit obligations, with permits turned into tasks and checklists. The pages describe the permit module under the ProActivity EHS offering; whether it is included in each package is not stated. This concerns regulatory permits, not permit to work.

    Permit management and AI permit analysis, checked 2 October 2026EHS Compliance+ package page, checked 2 October 2026

    More capability notes

    5 additional areas. Status describes reviewed sources, not hands-on performance.

    Also watch for: Integrations, API, security certifications and offline use across modules are not described on the reviewed pages.

    Dakota Software pricing

    Quote based on company size, modules and support; annual billing, standard three-year contract

    The pricing page checked on 2 October 2026 shows no amount, tier or unit price for ProActivity EHS, EHS Compliance+ or EHS Essentials. It says the price reflects the number of employees, facilities and geographic footprint, the modules selected, and onboarding, training and support needs, and that the model includes unlimited users. Its FAQ states that contracts are billed annually with a standard length of three years, that implementation typically costs about 50% of the annual software cost, that single sign-on costs vary by identity provider, and that customisation of product code is billed hourly while configuration is at no cost. A trial is described as offered at the vendor's discretion after a needs-assessment meeting, in a sandbox with preloaded data. Request a written quote that itemises licence, implementation, regulatory content, SSO, managed services and renewal terms.

    Separate pricing recheck date not recorded. Confirm current pricing with the vendor.

    Which product scope should the quote cover?

    ProActivity EHS, EHS Compliance+ and EHS Essentials: regulatory registers and calendars, incidents and observations, inspections, audits, tasks, analytics, training and permit management as the pages assign them to each package.

    Ask the vendor to identify the product, region, modules, billing unit, contract term and included services in writing.

    Offline work and integrations

    One page describes the audit module as working online and offline. The incident page describes reporting from any device and the Essentials page says no app is required; neither describes offline use. Test the named module in a location without signal.

    What we could not verify

    1 not verified · 4 depend on scope · 3 notes
    • Not verified in the sources: API and integrations with other systems.
    • Depends on plan or configuration: Permit management and AI permit analysis; Mobile access and offline use; Analytics and dashboards; Package differences.
    • Ownership is not stated on the reviewed pages.
    • Offline behaviour is therefore not established for each module.
    • What EHS Compliance+ includes beyond registers, permit obligations and calendars is not stated.

    Demo script

    Proposed demo: site obligations to follow-up action

    1. Give two real sites and a permit, then review the generated regulatory register and compliance calendar.
    2. Report a recordable injury from a phone and review the OSHA 300 and 301 forms.
    3. Run an inspection or audit and create follow-up tasks from a failed item.
    4. Review the dashboard and the monthly regulatory change alert for the sites.

    Ask the vendor to show you

    1. Which package and which modules does the quote cover, and which of the features you showed are not in it?
    2. Show a regulatory register for two of our real sites, including how applicability questions are answered and who at Dakota maintains the content.
    Use demo checklist

    Sources

    10 sources, checked

    Reviews on qhsetech.com

    Reviews may be filed under other names

    Also recorded as Dakota Software Corporation, ProActivity Suite. Older entries under a previous name may describe a different release or owner.

    Star ratings and review counts from the old catalog are not shown: no source for them was recorded.